25/03/11
 
Weird dream last night.  I was in some sort of town hall, there were lots of towns folk and a regiment had come to stay.  It has a very pride and prejudice feel to it.  They were inside and had just fought a hard battle.  We had won. I think I wander out to the entrance where there’s this French dude talking to, I think, the mayor of the town.  He apparently sold out someone/something and it allowed us to have the victory.  He’s being paid.  The towns people are happy, the soldiers aren’t.  Two come up on him as he’s being congratulated.  This doesn’t go down all that well and they attack him.  They are pulled off and they start arguing with one another.  Two get sent ‘home’.  They continue arguing all the way up the hill as someone asks the commanding officer if it was wise to send them back together given that both were fighting each other.  I am watching out the window, and see them fighting again.  I run out to them.  One of them’s hurt – in the head I think he got kicked, and is stunned.  He looks (and turns out to be) my line manager Pat.  He goes down, and I catch him.  Put him in the recovery position (while somehow still cradling him in my arms)  We are really close and I am holding him tight, and supporting his had, and he’s really really dazed and confused – it’s almost as if he’s dying, and I yell at those who followed to call an ambulance.  There’s a man there, and mum, and a little girl who in the dream I know as my sister.  She’s about ten.  The location has shifted when when I look up again – we are somewhere that looks like Greece, with bays that are warded off for boats.  The little girl races off to get one, as she knows where the doctor is, she returns empty handed and mum goes off with her – something about a short cut to get back – because the boats can’t enter the little bays where the beaches are.  All this time I am holding Pat, but he seems to be recovering now.  He rolls onto his back, and I tell him I like him, but (with real life in the fore of my mind – I do like him, but he’s engaged in real life) that he’ll probably fire me on Monday for saying that.  Then he tries to speak – basically saying he likes me but I am a bit too fat, but I understand and shush him.  Then help finally arrives and he is transferred to our villa.  He has a small outer hut to himself.  Mosh my landladies cat leads me there and starts chasing a mouse. He is recovering slowly and tells me it was a snake that bit him, on the hip and it pumped poison into him, hence being stunned and looking like he was dying.  Then a mouse comes out from under the rug that Mosh had gone under.  Pat catches it and chucks it away. He rubs his head.  It lands on my foot.  I screech and kick outside.  It lands on the table where we had a bit of a barbeque feast earlier.
 
There was also a dream fragment where I was in a book shop looking at the shelves – I think it was the sci fi-fantasy section, but I don’t remember much about that.